Canada Council

The goal of the ASM Canada Council is to foster a Canadian identity within the society and to serve the particular interests of Canadian members within the international position of ASM.

ASM Canada Council serves as a focal point through which Canadian Chapters can act together to achieve goals not attainable separately. In doing so, the Canada Council also acts as the primary contact among Canadian Chapters of ASM and other technical societies, fostering appropriate, efficient, and successful interaction.

In addition, Canada Council assists in the expansion of ASM membership and the creation and organization of new professional and Student Chapters in Canada. It also facilitates the transfer of information by assisting in the organization of technical meetings and conferences in Canada, and provides for the exchange of information among Canadian Chapters, particularly through the ASM Chapter Meeting Program.

A major council activity is to encourage and to provide recognition of outstanding achievement by members of Canadian Chapters. In addition to encouraging Canadian Chapters to apply for various ASM International awards, several awards have been created by Canada Council and are administered by the council.

Canada Council also supports Canadian members who have been recommended to serve on ASM boards, councils and committees. Finally, the council provides a contact for governments in Canada that seek expert advisors in materials-related fields.

Below is a listing of Canada Council Representatives. The members of the Canada Council are available to answer your questions and provide constructive input.

 

Erhan Ulvan

Chair

Ontario

eulvan@acuren.com

Linruo Zhao

Vice Chair

Ottawa Valley

linruo.zhao@nrc-cnrc.gc.ca

Constance Williams

Secretary

Edmonton

cymru@lightspeed.ca

Houshang Alamdari

Treasurer

Quebec

houshang.alamdari@gmn.ulaval.ca

John Wolodko

Member & Board Liaison

Edmonton

 

john.wolodko@albertainnovates.ca

Richard Blackwell, FASM

Member

Ontario

richard.blackwell@buehler.com

Kurtis    Kaminsky

Member & Chapter Council Rep

Calgary

kkaminsky@gmail.com

Lukas Bichler

Member

British Columbia

lukas.bichler@ubc.ca

Simon   Larose

Member

Montreal

simon.larose@nrc-cnrc.gc.ca

Paul Okrutny

Member

Ontario

pokrutny@giffinkoerth.com

James Derksen

Member

Edmonton

trustyjaid@gmail.com

Patrick Ho

Member

British Columbia

patrick.py.ho@gmail.com

Nasseh Khodaie

Member

Ottawa Valley

khodaie@ualberta.ca

ASM Canada Council John Convey Innovation Awards

Nomination Link Request (pdf)

Sample Nomination Form (pdf)

Rules (pdf)

Past Award Recipients(pdf)

 

ASM Canada Council Brian Ives Lectureship

Nomination Link Request (pdf)

Sample Nomination Form (pdf)

Rules (pdf)

Past Award Recipients(pdf)

 

ASM Canada Council G. MacDonald Young Award

Nomination Link Request (pdf)

Sample Nomination Form (pdf)

Rules (pdf)

Past Award Recipients(pdf)

Contact ASM International Member Service Center via email Member Service Center or call 440.338-5151 ext. 0 to talk to a Member Services Representative.