Society Awards

ASM HTS/Bodycote "Best Paper in Heat Treating" Contest

The ASM Heat Treating Society established the Best Paper in Heat Treating Award in 1997 to recognize a paper that represents advancement in heat-treating technology, promotes heat treating in a substantial way, or represents a clear advancement in managing the business of heat treating. The award, endowed by Bodycote Thermal Process-North America, is open to all students, in full time or part-time education, at universities (or their equivalent) or colleges. The winner will receive a plaque and a check for $2,500.  

Paper submission deadline: March 1, 2018. Submissions should be sent to:  Mary Anne Jerson, ASM Heat Treating Society, 9639 Kinsman Rd., Materials Park, OH 44073; tel: 440.338.5151 ext. 5539; fax: 440.338.6614; e-mail

View rules (pdf)

G. Bodeen Heat Treating Achievement Award

The George H. Bodeen Heat Treating Achievement Award was established by the ASM Heat Treating Society in 1996 to recognize distinguished and significant contributions to the field of heat treating through leadership, management, or engineering development of substantial commercial impact.

The award is named in honor of George H. Bodeen, ASM President 1983, ASM Distinguished Life Member, FASM, and Founding President of the ASM Heat Treating Society. He is Chairman of the Board and retired President and CEO of Lindberg Corporation.

Nomination deadline is February 1, 2019.

Instructions for Nomination (pdf)
Nomination Form (Word)
Past Award Recipients (pdf)

HTS/Surface Combustion Emerging Leader Award

The ASM HTS/Surface Combustion Emerging Leader Award was established in 2013 to recognize an outstanding early to mid-career heat treating professional whose accomplishments exhibit exceptional achievements in the heat treating industry.

The award was created in recognition of Surface Combustion's 100 Year Anniversary in 2015. It honors the company's long history and commitment to volunteerism within the ASM Heat Treating Society (HTS) and the development of "best in class" engineers.

Nomination deadline is April 1, 2019.

Instructions for Nominations (pdf)
Nomination Form (pdf)
Nomination Form (Word)