2017 Fellows

ASM's 2017 Class of Fellows

In 1969, ASM established the Fellow of the Society honor to provide recognition to members for their distinguished contributions to materials science and engineering and to develop a broadly based forum of technical and professional leaders to serve as advisors to the society.  Following are the members recognized by their colleagues for 2017.  Additional Fellows may be elected to this distinguished body in subsequent years.  The solicited guidance, which the Fellows will provide, will enhance the capability of ASM as a technical community of materials science and engineering in the years ahead.  Awards will be presented at ASM's annual Awards Dinner, Tuesday, October 10th, in Pittsburgh, PA during Materials Science & Technology 2017 (MS&T'17).


Mr. Aquil Ahmad, FASM
Senior Principal Engineer/Chief Metallurgist
Eaton Corporation
West Bloomfield, MI

"For improvements in product reliability from sustained research and development in the  commercialization of peening technologies, quantitative ultrasonic inclusion measurement, and advances in induction heat treating of highly stressed products."   

Dr. Gary H. Bray, FASM
Senior Technical Specialist
Arconic, Inc.
Murrysville, PA

"For prolific and sustained contributions to the development and commercial application of new aerospace aluminum alloys, enabling improved aircraft performance, and to the understanding and characterization of fatigue and fracture properties."

Mr. Craig D. Clauser, P.E., FASM
Craig Clauser Engineering Consulting, Inc.
West Chester, PA

"For application of materials engineering principles in a variety of technical areas, including embrittlement of steel, the science and practice of steel making and processing, and fracture and failure analysis."

Ms. Jacqueline M. Earle, FASM
Product Support Manager, Retired
Caterpillar, Inc.
Cary, NC

"For outstanding technical contributions developing innovative solutions and applying new materials to heavy equipment, saving time and money, and sustained leadership, dissemination of knowledge, and volunteerism at the highest level."

Ms. Cheryl Hartfield, FASM
Solutions Manager
Pleasanton, CA

"For sustained technical innovation and outstanding leadership in defect analysis and characterization methods that enabled the advancement of next-generation semiconductor devices with multiple industry application."

Dr. Paul D. Jablonski, FASM
National Energy Technology Laboratory, US DOE
Albany, OR

"For sustained excellence in materials processing and heat treatment, leading to CALPHAD based methodology for efficient homogenization of alloys through utilization of computational thermodynamics and kinetic."

Prof. Diana A. Lados, FASM
Milton Prince Higgins II Distinguished Associate Professor & Director, Integrative Materials Design Center (iMdc)
Worcester Polytechnic Institute, MA

"For developing and implementing a new integrative design paradigm in Materials Science and Engineering research, education, and application through unique collaborations between university, industry, and government."

Prof. Chang-Jiu Li, FASM
Xi'an Jiaotong University

"For original and distinguished contribution to clarifying the mechanisms of microstructure formation in thermal sprayed coatings and mentoring a large number of advanced graduates in the field of thermal spray."

Prof. Michele V. Manuel, FASM
Rolf E. Hummel Professor of Electronic Materials and Department Chair
University of Florida, Gainesville

"For outstanding leadership and technical contributions in thermodynamics-based alloy design and its associated methods as applied to light metals."


Prof. Dr. Sanjay Mathur, FASM
Director, Institute of Inorganic Chemistry
University of Cologne, Germany

"For pioneering contributions in precursor-based synthesis of advanced ceramics and technology transfer achievements in the field of chemical nanotechnologies and engineering of functional materials for energy and sensing applications."

Dr. Alan R. Pelton, FASM
Chief Technical Officer
G. Rau, Inc.
Santa Clara, CA

"For sustained and outstanding contributions leading to the development, understanding, and use of nitinol shape memory alloys in engineering components, especially related to medical and healthcare applications."

Dr. Prabhakar G. Renavikar, FASM
President and CEO
Metalligent Consultancy Services
Pune, India

"For long term vision and dynamic leadership in the development and implementation of alternate materials for automotive vehicles and in the promotion of ASM International activities in India."

Mr. Mark A. Rhoads, FASM
Materials Consulting Engineer
GE Aviation
Cincinnati, OH

"For technical leadership, development and application of ferrous alloy shaft, bearing, and coating materials and processes that have found critical applications in aero engines currently in service."

Prof. Christopher A. Schuh, FASM
Danae and Vasilis Salapatas Professor of Metallurgy
MIT, Cambridge

"For leadership in the fields of materials science, engineering, and education, including the successful integration of fundamental science into the design, fabrication, and commercial implementation of advanced materials products."

Dr. David A. Shifler, FASM
Program Officer
Office of Naval Research
Arlington, VA

"For longstanding contributions to corrosion engineering as a researcher, mentor, and program manager, and for his leadership of materials research and development across government laboratories, academia and industry."

Dr. Daniel J. Sordelet, FASM
Senior Engineering Specialist
Caterpillar, Inc.
Peoria, IL

"For innovative laboratory development of new surface engineering materials, techniques and processes and the successful application of them to the full production of real world components."

Prof. David C. Van Aken, FASM
Curators' Distinguished Teaching Professor
Missouri University of Science and Technology,
Rolla, MO

"For distinguished contributions in metallurgical engineering education and the development of new manganese steels for lightweight military armor and automotive steel."

Prof. Timothy P. Weihs, FASM
Johns Hopkins University
Baltimore, MD

"For fundamental understanding, development, invention, and successful commercialization of reactive metallic materials and structures and for innovation in mentoring and educating future materials engineers and entrepreneurs."