Canada Council

Canada Council

The goal of the ASM Canada Council is to foster a Canadian identity within the society and to serve the particular interests of Canadian members within the international position of ASM.

ASM Canada Council serves as a focal point through which Canadian Chapters can act together to achieve goals not attainable separately. In doing so, the Canada Council also acts as the primary contact among Canadian Chapters of ASM and other technical societies, fostering appropriate, efficient, and successful interaction.

In addition, Canada Council assists in the expansion of ASM membership and the creation and organization of new professional and Student Chapters in Canada. It also facilitates the transfer of information by assisting in the organization of technical meetings and conferences in Canada, and provides for the exchange of information among Canadian Chapters, particularly through the ASM Chapter Meeting Program.

A major council activity is to encourage and to provide recognition of outstanding achievement by members of Canadian Chapters. In addition to encouraging Canadian Chapters to apply for various ASM International awards, several awards have been created by Canada Council and are administered by the council.

Canada Council also supports Canadian members who have been recommended to serve on ASM boards, councils and committees. Finally, the council provides a contact for governments in Canada that seek expert advisors in materials-related fields.

Below is a listing of Canada Council Representatives. The members of the Canada Council are available to answer your questions and provide constructive input.

 

Chair Dr. Linruo Zhao  linruo.zhao@nrc-cnrc.gc.ca Ottawa Valley
Vice Chair Dr. Lukas Bichler lukas.bichler@ubc.ca British Columbia
Treasurer Prof. Houshang Alamdari     houshang.alamdari@gmn.ulaval.ca Quebec City
Immediate Past Chair Dr. Erhan Ulvan     eulvan@acuren.com Ontario
Member James Derksen trustyjaid@gmail.com Edmonton
Member Mr. Patrick Ho patrick.py.ho@gmail.com British Columbia
Member & Chapter Council Rep Kurtis Kaminsky kurtis.kaminsky@gmail.com Edmonton
Member Dr. Qi Yang qiyang99@hotmail.com Ottawa Valley
Member Mr. Simon Larose simon.larose@nrc-cnrc.gc.ca Montreal
Member Mr. Leroy Reimer leroy.reimer@gmail.com Manitoba
Member Mr. Jordan Wilhelm jordanjpwilhelm@gmail.com Ontario
Member Mr. Richard Blackwell rickblackwell@psidragon.com Ontario
Member Prof. C. Ravi Ravindran rravindr@ryerson.ca Ontario
Member Richard Johnson johnson2423@gmail.com Calgary
Board Liaison & Member Dr. John Wolodko jwolodko@ualberta.ca Edmonton
Staff Liaison Mrs. Nicole Hale nicole.hale@asminternational.org Edmonton
       

ASM Canada Council John Convey Innovation Awards

Nomination Link Request (pdf)

Sample Nomination Form (pdf)

Rules (pdf)

Past Award Recipients(pdf)

 

ASM Canada Council Brian Ives Lectureship

Nomination Link Request (pdf)

Sample Nomination Form (pdf)

Rules (pdf)

Past Award Recipients(pdf)

 

ASM Canada Council G. MacDonald Young Award

Nomination Link Request (pdf)

Sample Nomination Form (pdf)

Rules (pdf)

Past Award Recipients(pdf)

Contact ASM International Member Service Center via email Member Service Center or call 440.338-5151 ext. 0 to talk to a Member Services Representative.