Chapter Events


ASM Buffalo Chapter Technical Meeting

October 18, 2018 | Eagle House

SPEAKER: Dr. Arthur Reardon, Corporate Metallurgist, The Gleason Works TOPIC: “The Heat Treatment and Press Quenching of Steel Alloys” This presentation will cover the fundamental aspects of how heat treatment alters the crystal structure and properties of steel alloys, and the reason why press quenching is a preferred technique for heat treating high accuracy components such as industrial bearing races and helicopter gears. Examples of things that sometimes go wrong during heat treating will also be discussed. Microstructural images will be used to illustrate these examples.

Chapter events


Tour of Dynabrade

September 13, 2018 | Dynabrade

Dynabrade manufactures unique portable power tools and related accessories in their 150,000 sq. ft. facility in Clarence. In an unusual twist, this tour will start at 8 AM., and will take place during working hours so attendees can see the factory in action. The tour is limited to 15 people, so call and confirm early! Following the expected 2-hour tour, the attendees may optionally join each other for lunch at Brennan’s Bowery Bar.

Chapter events

ASM Latest News

Chapter Officers

Chuck Lafountain - Chair clafountain@diamondsaw.com

Lee Gearhart - Co-Chair / Program  lgearhart@moog.com

Herb Wilber - Treasurer  herb.wilber@us.panasonic.com

Mary Jane Hornung - Secretary  MaryJane.Hornung@oerlikon.com

Renee Lueke - Director renee.lueke@zodiacaerospace.com

Kira Berent - Director  kira.berent@materion.com

Tom Herdlein - Director  thomas.herdlein@materion.com

Tim Kosto - Director  tjkosto@gmail.com 

Phil Aronica - Director  phil@metlab.com

Jayne Spanos - Director  jane.spanos@marion.com

Stan Biernat - Long Range Planning Chair sbiernat@moog.com

Tim Gelnett -  Director  tim@nsm-ny.com

Peter Witting - Director, Web Page  pwitting@harperintl.com

Hank Kammerer - Director  hgkmrer@aol.com