Zay Jeffries

Zay Jeffries

Dr. Zay Jeffries was a founding member of the Cleveland Chapter of the American Society for Steel Treating (ASST), which was the forerunner of the American Society of Metals (ASM) and ASM International. He was active in ASM throughout his life, even speaking at the dedication of the ASM Headquarters in 1960 at the age of 72. He served as national president of ASST (1929), and as Director-General of the First (1951) and Second (1957) World Metallurgical Congresses. He was a recipient of all six major ASM awards. 

Zay Jeffries came to Cleveland from South Dakota in 1911 to become an instructor at the Case Institute of Technology (CIT). He became a professor at CIT in 1916 and later served as a member of the Board of Trustees after retiring.

Among his numerous industry positions, Zay Jeffries served as the Head of Alcoa's research laboratories in Cleveland where, along with R.S. Archer, he was responsible for the development of 2014, 2024 and 6051 aluminum alloys. At the same time Jeffries was a consultant to the National Lamp Works of General Electric (GE) in Cleveland (Nela Park) where he installed the first X-ray diffraction unit in US industry. He persuaded GE to undertake its first non-electric light related venture with the formation of Carboloy to make carbide tooling, a GE division that he later came to head. Other local companies for which Zay Jeffries was a consultant included National Tube Company of United States Steel, Electric Railway Improvement Company of Cleveland, The Cleveland Steel Tool Company, Lincoln Electric and W.S Tyler Company he often provided expert testimony for his clients.

Amid Dr. Jeffries many technical accomplishments were ground breaking work on the microstructure of ductile tungsten; pioneering work on the quantitative analysis of microstructures and X-ray diffraction as a laboratory tool; and one of the earliest explanations for age hardening, the slip interference theory published with R.S Archer in 1921.

During World War II, Zay Jeffries served upon and headed a large number of committees as a member of the National Research Council while continuing as President of Carboloy. He was also a consultant to Arthur Compton at the Metallurgical Laboratory at the University of Chicago, the Manhattan Project facility that first produced a self-sustained chain reaction.

The Cleveland Chapter honors the memory of Zay Jeffries each year with a lecture presented by a premier researcher in the field of materials science and engineering. Like Zay Jeffries, the recipients show a broad range of abilities and are noted for their work in industry, academia and government. Below is the list of past recipients underlined names can be selected to download their presentation:


Year Recipient

1951 Jeffries, Zay

1952 Bain, Edgar C.

1953 Sykes, W. P.

1954 Frary, Francis C.

1955 Troiano, Alexander R.

1956 Glennan, T. K.

1957 Van Horn, Kent R.

1958 Spretnak, J. S.

1959 Croft, H. P.

1960 Hollomon, J. H.

1961 Thum, E. E.

1962 Cohen, Morris

1963 Darken, Larry S.

1964 Hibbard, W. R.

1965 Gensamer, M.

1966 Dean, Walter A.

1967 Roberts, G. A.

1968 Fontana, M. G.

1969 Mehl, Robert F.

1970 Blickwede, D. T.

1971 Rhines, F. N.

1972 Ansell, G. S.

1973 Hehemann, R. F.

1974 Hirth, John P.

1975 Leslie, W. C.

1976 Gilman, J. J.

1977 Wayman, C. M.

1978 Decker, Raymond F.

1979 Westbrook, J. H.

1980 Aaronson, Hubert A.

1981 Flemings, Merton C.

Year Recipient

1982 Wert, C. A.

1983 Paxton, H. W.

1984 Elliot, John F.

1985 Apelian, Diran

1986 Glicksman, Martin E.

1987 Kuhn, Howard A.

1988 Bridenbaugh, Peter R.

1989 Weertman, Julia R.

1990 Williams, Jim C.

1991 DeArdo, Tony

1992 St. Pierre, George R.

1993 Mehrabian, Robert

1994 Wallace, John F.

1995 Starke, Edgar A., Jr.

1996 Moon, David

1997 Lawley, Alan

1998 Shewmon, Paul G.

1999 Steigerwald, Edward

2000 Sanders, Thomas, Jr.

2001 Muzyka, Donald

2002 Welsch Gerhard

2003 Buckman, R. W.

2004 Vandervoort, George

2005 Krauss, George

2006 Rapp, Robert A.

2007 Pollock, Tresa

2008 Hunt, Jr., Warren H.

2009 Antolovich, Stephen

2010 Matlock, David K.

2011 Staehle, Roger W.

2012 Michal, Gary M.

2013 100th Anniversary of Zay Jeffries Birth

2014 Williams, James C.

2015 Nix, Williams D.

2016 Forsmark, Joy H.

2017 Smialek, James L.