IMS Awards

IMS Awards

Henry Clifton Sorby Award

The recipient is an individual, internationally recognized for contributions made throughout his or her career to the broad fields of metallography and materials science. Each year, the Sorby Award Selection Committee chooses an awardee from a group of nominated individuals. The Awardee is invited to present a keynote lecture at the IMS/ASM annual meeting. A commemorative walnut plaque is presented to the Awardee at the ASM Awards Banquet. The Henry Clifton Sorby Award was first presented by IMS in 1976.

Rules (pdf)
List of past recipients (pdf)

IMS Buehler Technical Paper Award

The award is presented for the Best Paper in the IMS journal Metallography, Microstructure, and Analysis.  A commemorative plaque and a $1,000 cash award, endorsed by Buehler are presented at the IMS Annual Convention to the author(s) of the paper judged best in dealing with the practice of the metallographic arts.  The award is endowed by Buehler Ltd.

Contact Mike Keeble for more information.

International Metallographic Contest

This contest draws the interest of metallographers around the world, as they compete for the prestigious ASM-IMS Jacquet Lucas Award of $3,000.  The award is endowed by Buehler Ltd. There are five different classes of competition covering all fields of optical and electron microscopy. In Classes 1 through 3, multiple images and captions are expected to be used to describe how metallography was used to help solve a problem or to describe a unique or unusual technique. Classes 4 and 5 are for artistic pictures. The contest is open to all, including non-members.

View detailed information about IMC >

View 2018 Winners (pdf)

2017 Winners (pdf)
2016 Winners (pdf)
2015 Winners (pdf)
2014 Winners (pdf)
2013 Winners
2012 Winners (pdf)
2011 Winners (pdf)
2010 Winners (pdf)
2009 Winners (pdf)
2008 Winners (pdf)
2007 Winners (pdf)
2006 Winners (pdf)
2005 Winners (pdf)
2004 Winners (pdf)
2003 Winners (pdf)
2002 Winners (pdf)
2001 Winners (pdf)
2000 Winners (pdf)
1999 Winners (pdf)
1998 Winners (pdf)
1997 Winners (pdf)

Grand Prize Winners – Jacquet Lucas Award

Grand prize winners in the International Metallographic Contest receive the Jacquet Lucas Award.

List of past recipients of the Jacquet-Lucas Award (pdf)

View winning posters:

2017 Winner (pdf)
2016 Winner (pdf)
2015 Winner (pdf)
2014 Winner (pdf)
2013 Winner (pdf)
2012 Winner (pdf)
2011 Winner (pdf)
2010 Winner (pdf)
2009 Winner (pdf)
2007 Winner (pdf)
2006 Winner (pdf)
2004 Winner (pdf)
2003 Winner (pdf)
2002 winner (pdf)


President's Award

The President's Award is conferred annually by the IMS President in recognition of outstanding service to IMS.

List of past recipients (pdf)